BT

如何利用碎片时间提升技术认知与能力? 点击获取答案

Pavlo Baron在大数据领域的宏伟目标
录制于:

| 受访者 Pavlo Baron 关注 0 他的粉丝 作者 Harry Brumleve 关注 1 他的粉丝 发布于 2013年9月18日 | Google、Facebook、Pinterest、阿里、腾讯 等顶尖技术团队的上百个可供参考的架构实例!
18:43

个人简介 Pavlo Baron是codecentric AG的首席架构师。他致力于分布式系统和大数据集的研究——即大数据背后的基础设施。Pavlo经常在大会上发表演讲,还写过三本德文书籍:《Erlang/OTP》、《实用至上的IT架构》和《脆弱的敏捷》。

软件改变着我们的世界;QCon旨在促进企业软件开发领域的知识与创新的传播;为了实现这个目标,QCon以实践为导向,主要面向能够影响团队创新的团队领导者、架构师、项目经理及技术主管。

   

1. 大家好,我是Harry Brumleve,我现在在QCon旧金山2012会场。我现在和Pavlo Baron坐在一起,Pavlo,请问你是如何开始软件架构师生涯的?

好的,你不可能直接从软件架构师开始的,你应当作为新手从软件开发人员起步。就我来说,我认为软件架构师依赖于经验。在你能够设计架构、设计复杂的解决方案之前,你必须经历开发人员的阶段。你会四处碰壁,学习别人如何工作,同事如何工作,然后你会意识到“现在能做的贡献不仅限于编码了”,这对我来,设计师仍然要写代码,但是你也可以只在软技能层面上做出贡献,比如和客户沟通,甚至谈谈管理,因为你有这方面的经验,你也可能有信心在不同层面谈论技术上的事情。你还可以帮助团队成员提升自己,这点相当重要,它绝不意味着要为每个人做决定,而是帮助人们和团队做出正确的决定。
实际上,我认为的架构师就是这样的。所以在整个生涯中,我也是这么做的,从普通的开发人员开始,我在这个行业从业已经超过20年了,老实说,我现在仍旧是个普通的开发人员。

   

2. 你准备在QCon上就大数据方面发表演讲。是什么引起你对大数据的兴趣的?

首先,对我个人来说,这是个广阔的领域,在这里,我可以用到所有的经验、已有的以及未来获取的知识,对于技术人员来说,这是个巨大的舞台。但是,从非技术人员来看,这就像我们的生活无法离开电脑,这不是说有了天网这样的东西,这只是众所周知在日常生活中是电脑帮助了我们,而大数据领域的工作实际上是用来支持这方面并使其发展,我对这个领域感兴趣是因为我看到了它帮助人类的机会,或许改变不了什么,但也可能会使世界变得更加美好,这才是大数据真正吸引我的地方。

   

3. 这可是大数据的巨大目标啊?

是的,你需要一个愿景对吧?愿景和目标是不同的东西,目标只是一小步,比如说你只能做出一点贡献,你看我们虽然曾拥有过海量的信息和数据模型,但没有合适的工具。现在,我们有了工具,有了信息,我们可以使这些信息增长,可以收集更多的信息,我们也知道如何处理这些信息,对我来说,应该将这些成果用于帮助人类自身。而不只是像帮助企业的小方面——这些是目标,而愿景就是——你看,人们使用电脑,就像电脑在帮助人们,做出决策或类似的事情。

   

4. 大数据看起来意味着……能够提供小规模或中等规模数据无法提供的东西,具体是什么呢?为什么大数据如此重要?

给你讲个有趣的事情。我有一次参加管理层的会议,与会人员已经对如何辨别大数据和中等规模数据的问题进行了讨论,但没有得出任何结论,我不由得笑了。就我来看,这不是数量的问题,我们又不是在搞“鸡翅大胃王比赛”;两者间还是有些不同的。这是各类数据如何处理的问题,这很重要,同时可以引申到不同规模数据的处理,完全取决于你要做的事情以及想要想提取出的信息。然后,你会继续,提取信息的需求会不断成长,你会变得饥渴,你需要更多,越来越多的数据,而这就是数量的意义。在我眼里,或者对我来说,大数据的“大”字,不是说TB算小PB算大。“大”是指无法预见的大量数据,这才是关键。你无法预测它的大小,你只要在数据增长、变得更大的时候,使用不同的策略,在存储设备上保存这些数据,等等。所以,我不能也不可能说清楚底多大才是“大”。

   

5. 我想这是对大数据很好的定义,但是仍然比较模糊,当解决方案中准备使用大数据或者说它会产生大数据的时候,你该怎么说呢?

在我的对话中,我以不同的角度来观察大数据的整个领域,所以有不同的看法,比如说存储。首先,你将面临的问题是,并非所有数据都适合通用数据存储方式,所以你需要找到一些不同的解决方案,你还需要考虑到冗余、延迟以及容错等问题,尽管你把这份数据保存了三遍,但是这样会占用更多的存储,另一种对大数据的看法是,当你的用户分布在全球,你提供数据服务,有多少数据其实并不重要,如果仅从某个数据中心提供服务,就得面临距离带来的挑战了,这仍然是物理上的问题吧?
这里的关键是数据需要尽快地到达你的客户、访问者、用户那边,想象一下,如果你是汽车行业人士,你生产汽车,并且希望汽车宣传视频看起来更加诱人,对吧?而当视频播放的时候,卡得你甚至能数清画面的每一帧,之后会发生什么?——客户将失去购买的欲望,因为视频的播放应该更加流畅。因此,你能做的是去找CDN提供商如Akamai等,与它们签个肥得流油的合同,仅仅是为了让内容离用户更近一些。这就是这个领域中,你不得不做的事情,因为当视频还在缓冲的时候,你却希望这个视频已经加载完了,你需要使用别人提供的基础设施来达到这个目的,因为他们总是比你离访问者更近一些。
另一种看法是,大数据是个接近实时的东西,这是个不同的视角,虽然它可能不是存储但却是你所需要的,比如,从传感器接收永不停止的数据流并进行处理。同样,比如我们使医院自动化。 每个病人身上可能一直带有上千个不同的传感器来感知所有的数据,如果有一千个病人,可以想象,你需要考虑基础设施的问题,问题可能首先出现在网络层的某个地方——线缆连接是类似第一英里(译者注:第一英里是指用户接入运营商的地方,这里指网络接入层)的某个地方,然后你才能考虑如何处理数据流。比如,你不希望护士在深夜的时候,每隔15分钟去问病人是否正常,因为他不喜欢,实际上我也是,所以你需要在接收数据的时候进行分析,这是CEP(复杂事件处理)的常规领域,如果打开了窗户2个多小时,你需要知道这2小时内有没有出什么状况以便警告某人,所以你主动派了一个护士在那里,因为接收的数据量非常庞大所以你必须实时处理。如果不用存储这些数据,那在这种情境下,你能对整个基础设施做些什么呢——比如你想要电脑最大效率利用电能,最好的方式是将处理工作的负荷提升到100%,但你依然要在这里处理工作,因为他不会分发到上百台设备中去,如果需要分发这些数据,可能需要几台设备来进行数据流的分割。
不管怎么说,数据的分析将会是另一个问题,它是以昂贵的CPU性能为代价,因为通过文本分析异常或情绪等信息时会耗费大量CPU,可能无论你要从这么多数据(用术语怎么说,PB级的?)中分析出什么,都无需存储这些数据,但你需要实现正确的算法,它必须够快、够可靠,你还需要训练这些算法。这同样会耗费时间,你还需要准备一些供算法调用的数据,以及诸如此类的工作,我想说的是,你有不同的视角,当你将这些不同的视角组合到一块时,你会发现可能不会有多少家公司存在上述所有的问题,但是当把这些问题组合到一起的时候,问题的解决方案可能会是一个庞大、冗余的基础设施,它拥有大量的存储以及非常多的CPU,能够进行并行批处理,流和流处理器。这么说吧,如果有两个人在公共场所开始互殴,还是动刀子的,你如果只是录下了经过,对于被打败的躺倒的那人来说没有任何用处,你希望阻止他,所以你得有一个快速的解决方案。警报必须足够快,这将会占用大量的CPU和网络带宽来进行视频数据流的传输和后续的分析。

   

6. 站在大数据帮助人类的角度,你讲的拯救一位刀伤的受害者的例子十分精彩。但是说的有些过于复杂了,所以,你认为人们需要大量的大数据方面的培训吗,是否邀请博士来解决这些围绕并影响人类的问题呢,毕竟它们如此庞大而且复杂?

问得好,我也没有博士学位,也不会要求你有博士学位,但是你必须要有坚实的理论基础才能够做这个事。我很喜欢数据科学家这个想法,我们将在企业中寻找这类人才,他们需要学习以打下数学和计算机科学方面扎实的基础,并结合使用两者。这些人必须有正确的心态。可能我不会是变革世界的伟人,但你必须坚信你能利用所学将世界变得更加美好。
要问我的回答,我会说“不”,但你需要学习很多东西,只有这样,当你有所准备的时候,当你有这些理论基础的时候,你将会很快意识到你其实什么都不懂,即使你开始解事物的本质,但是你意识到知道多少实际上并不重要,而且一直如此,我想说的是你不知道的远比你知道的多。但是,你从良好的教育所学会的,应该是做试验、愿意试验、检验结果、真正的做些私人研究(或许是在夜晚的某地),而不是增加搞定MVC框架的总数或类似的事情。

   

7. 如果一般的开发人员通过某些努力可以达到你的要求的话,你是不是发现大多数开发团队和企业正在朝着这个方向前进?

这个问题相当棒,你刚说的开发团队就是我前面提到过的,我们需要那些知道自己能够对数据做些什么、如何获取信息、如何使用科学分析方法的人加入,这不只像开发软件,这还需要尝试不同的算法,并搞清楚如何对这些算法进行训练、调优,并知道结果已经被优化了,而且还要对这个领域感兴趣。我认为专业数据科学家已经开始这方面的工作,所以我希望大学能够在这个方面走的更远。我们实际需要的是丰富的概念,不仅仅是开发人员,还必须是数据专家,他们并不在意使用什么工具,他们只有一个愿景,一个目标,为了达到它使用任何可用的工具,这个工具集需要非常庞大,才能够实现最终的目标。这只是我一系列的想法,你可能需要做出改变,改变以往大学的教育计划,必须在教育过程中为学生提供正确的想法。
有个观点非常有趣,当作为外界、企业的客户时,他们将解释如何真正利用在大学中学习的人们,以及离开大学后不知道如何对事物进行调整所以参加工作的人们,这都来自于经验。所以,是的,为了让开发团队了解这些,应当从教育开始,非常必要,我认为我们已经开始这么做了。

   

8. 你提到的大数据帮助人类的理念,大学和开发团队如何真正提升大数据的品质和认可程度呢,通过增加专业人才吗,另外,你还能从哪里预见到今后大数据进化的方向呢?

这只是我个人的看法,是关于通过不断发展的系统帮助人类做出合理的决定,所以称作为决策支持系统或是建议系统,随便你叫什么,这不是说要打造一个天网,就是我前面所说的天网。电脑很蠢的,它们只会完成你让他们做的工作,但它们很擅长快速完成以及重复这些工作,虽然我们希望不会出错,但这是不可能的,但是不管怎么说它们能够重复做事,而且做得很快,所以我们使用它们。而最后的确认,最后的“是”或“否”会由一位有资格的人类,通过电脑,基于上百万个因素做出最终的决策。它已经帮你提前计算、聚合完成所有的信息,你只需要进行决策就行。当你能做出决策的时候,你就能教会电脑去做更多的事情、分析更多的数据,在帮助人类这条道路上走得更远。我认为,进化将会发生在建议系统和决策支持系统。

Harry: 感谢你接受我们的采访!

Pavlo:也谢谢你的采访!

登陆InfoQ,与你最关心的话题互动。


找回密码....

Follow

关注你最喜爱的话题和作者

快速浏览网站内你所感兴趣话题的精选内容。

Like

内容自由定制

选择想要阅读的主题和喜爱的作者定制自己的新闻源。

Notifications

获取更新

设置通知机制以获取内容更新对您而言是否重要

BT

BT
x Your opinion matters! Please fill in the InfoQ Survey about your reading habits!

The Larger Purpose of Big Data with Pavlo Baron
Recorded at:

Interview with Pavlo Baron by Harry Brumleve on Jan 30, 2013 | NOTICE: The next QCon is in San Francisco Nov 3-7, Join us!
18:43

Bio Pavlo Baron is lead architect with codecentric AG. His passion are distributed systems and large data sets – the infrastructure behind what they call Big Data. Pavlo is frequent conference speaker and has written three German books: “Erlang/OTP”, “Pragmatic IT Architecture” and “Fragile Agile”.

Software is changing the world; QCon aims to empower software development by facilitating the spread of knowledge and innovation in the enterprise software development community; to achieve this, QCon is organized as a practitioner-driven conference designed for people influencing innovation in their teams: team leads, architects, project managers, engineering directors.

   

1. This is Harry Brumleve, I’m at QCon San Francisco 2012, I’m sitting with Pavlo Baron, Pavlo how did you get your start as a software architect?

Well, you don’t start as a software architect; you start as a software developer, so as a newbie. And software architect from my point of view depends on the experience. When you are able to architect things, architect complex solutions, you need to go through a whole developer life. You will get yourself some bloody-noses and all that, and learn how people work, how companies work and then you realize: “Ok you can contribute not only through coding”, for me architects codes anyway, but you can only contribute on the soft skills level, you can contribute talking to customers, talking to even management and all that, because you have the experience and you have maybe the confidence to talk about technical things on a different level. And you can help teams improve themselves, this is a very important part, and it’s absolutely not about making decisions for everybody, but it’s more like helping people and the team make correct decisions.

This is actually what I think of being architect. So I went through this whole life, I’m for over 20 years in this industry and I started as a regular developer, so I’m still a regular developer to be honest.

   

2. You are here at QCon giving a presentation on Big Data. What draws you to Big Data?

First of all for me personally it’s a huge area where I can use all my experience, all my knowledge and even not existing knowledge but I still have to gain and it’s a huge playground for a technologist. But from the perspective of people who are not technologists, is like we cannot live without computers anymore, it’s not about that we have Skynet or something, it is just computers help us in the everyday life you know, and the Big Data area actually is something that supports this, that helps this development and I’m very interest3e in this area because I actually see a chance to help mankind, to maybe change the world a little bit, maybe make the world a better place, so that it’s actually something that draws me to Big Data.

   

3. That is a pretty big goal for Big Data?

Yes it is, but anyway I mean you need visions right? Visions and targets are different things, so targets are just small steps and maybe you just can contribute a little, but you know we have this huge information previously, huge data models, we didn’t have these tools. Now we have tools, we have this information, we can grow this information, we can collect much more information, we have learned how to deal with information and that is actually something that should, from my point of view, should help the mankind. So not just helping businesses with small things; these are targets, the vision must be, you know, people use computers, like computers help them, make decisions and things like that.

   

4. The name Big Data seems to imply … offer something that’s small data or medium size data can’t really provide, what is that? Why is Big Data important?

So that is a funny story. I’ve been to a conference on the management level and they have discussed how to tell Big Data from Medium Data and out of nothing I started laughing. From my opinion it’s not about numbers, I mean we are not at the “Who is the most chicken wings here” competition; it’s a little bit different. So it’s about dealing with any kind of data, this is important and it can lead to any amount of data, just depends of what you do and which information you want to get out of this data. Then you will go on and grow this, because you will get hungry, you will need even more and more and more, and this explains the numbers then. Big in my eyes, or from my point of view, it’s you cannot tell a terabyte is small and a petabyte is big, it’s not that. It’s unpredictably lot of data so that is the point. You cannot tell where is the border, so you just need to use technologies whenever the data grows, to get bigger, to have even more data on your storage, to use different storage strategies and so on. So I cannot tell you a number really, I wouldn’t.

   

5. That is a pretty good definition I think of Big Data but it’s still ambiguous, how do you tell when a solution is going to use Big Data or when it will produce Big Data?

Well in my talks I look at this whole area from different perspectives, so there are different perspectives like for example storage. I mean first of all you will have the problem that not everything will fit in your common data store, so you will go for different solutions then and what you need to consider things like Redundancy and Latency and Fault Tolerance and things like that, so even when you will start storing one chunk of data three times, your storage will grow, and another perspective on Big Data is for example when you have users all over the world and you would like to serve you data, how much you have it doesn’t matter really, you want to serve this data from one data center, you will have to fight distances, it’s still physics right?

The point here is that you want to reach your customer, your visitor, your user, as soon as possible, just imagine the situation where you are for example in the automobile Industry, producing cars and you really want your car video look real sexy, right? So because when this video starts jumping around and you can count every single frame, what will happen is that the customer will not buy it because it should be tasty. So what you would do, you would go to CDN like Akamai or something, you make a big fat contract just to plays the content close to your visitor. This is still something that you would have to do in this area because it’s still streaming and you need this media over there and you need to use infrastructure provided by somebody else and they always will be closer to your visitors than you would ever be.

Another perspective is something that could be described as close to real time, because it’s a different perspective, it’s maybe not the storage but you need for example to process a never ending stream of sensor data. Like, for example, we can automate a hospital. So there is a patient with maybe a thousand of different sensors and all the time and sense all the data and there are thousand patients so you can imagine the infrastructure issues that you need to consider or first of all appear in network layer somewhere, so it’s wires and first mile stuff like that, and you’ll even go on you want to do something with this stream. For example you don’t want the nurse to wake up the patients in the night every fifteen minutes just to ask him if he is ok, because he will not like it actually I don’t, so you want to analyze these data as it comes, it’s classic area of CEP, of Complex Event Processing, you have sliding windows maybe of two hours and you need to know within those two hours if something goes wrong so you need to alert somebody, so you will actively send a nurse in there, and this data amount is real huge that you have to process there. But maybe you wouldn’t even store this, so the whole infrastructure, what you would do in this case, for example you need to utilize your computer power as good as possible, it’s always a good thing to have processes working like at 100% maybe, but still you will have to do this here because he will not distributed all over at hundreds of machines, he will need to do this with several machines maybe just splitting streams.

Anyway analytics is another problem because analytics can be really expensive in terms of CPU power, because just try to analyze text for anomalies or for sentiments of things like that, it costs so maybe you don’t store a lot of data whatever terms you take it, petabytes, wherever, but you will have to implement correct algorithms that are fast enough, that are reliable enough, you need to train algorithms. This also takes time, this also takes some data that you need to prepare and so on and so forth, so the message here is you have different perspectives and when you combine all these different perspectives maybe there are not many companies who have all these pains, but when you combine all that, this will be a huge infrastructure with Redundancies and with huge storage and with lots of CPUs, with parallel batch processing, with streaming and stream processes. Like just try to find out if two people, someone from the public place, are starting a fight, a knife fight, it will not help the guy who’s actually done there dying, it will not help him if you record the event, you want to prevent it so you need a fast solution there. Alert must be real fast so this takes computer power, this takes real huge network bandwidth to stream all this video data then analytics afterwards.

   

6. And so that is specifically a great example of Big Data helping mankind, saving a knife victim. But what you just describe as is pretty complex so do you think you need a lot of training in Big Data, do you need a PhD from university in order to solve these huge problems that are all encompassing and affecting mankind?

That is a good question, I wouldn’t say you need a PhD, myself I don’t have a PhD but you need a solid theoretical base for that. I love this idea of data scientist, we are raising these new people in the industry, they are getting educating to have solid bases in mathematics and computer science and they combine those things. What is necessary is that these people have the correct mindset. I’m not the biggest world changer maybe, but still but you need to be aware of how you can use what you learn in order to make world a better place.

The answer is I would say “No” but you need to learn a lot because when you are prepared for that, when you have these theoretical bases, you will quickly realize that you don’t know anything, and even if you start knowing things you will actually realize that it doesn’t matter how much you know, it will always be, I mean what you don’t know it’s always much more than what you know. But what you learn through a good education is experimenting, being willing to experiment, try things out, really doing private research maybe in the night somewhere instead of hacking down the ultimate MVC framework number hundred fifty thousand or whatever.

   

7. Then if this is approachable by the average developer with some work, is this something that you can see most development teams and corporations embracing?

This is a real good question, when you are speaking of developer teams as I mentioned previously we need people on board who are aware what they can do with data, how they can gain information, how they can use the scientific analytical approach, it’s not like only developing software it’s being able to try different algorithms to know how to train them, to know how to tweak them, to know actually is tweak the result as well and being interested in this area as well. So I think that already has started with this professional data scientist so I expect that universities will do more about this. What we actually need is the concept of polyglot not only developers, polyglot data experts, people who don’t care what tool they use, they have just a vision, a target that they need to reach it and they use every single possible tool and this toolset needs to be real huge just to come there. So this is a sort of mindset, you need to change maybe the programs that you use in universities to educate those people, you need to provide the correct mindset.

A very interesting concept is having guests from the outside, from the industry, who will explain how to actually use what these people are learning in the universities and what you don’t know when you leave the university is how to tweak things so they work, it’s only coming from experience. So yes, to have this in the developer teams it needs to start with the education, it really needs, but I think we are on the way there.

   

8. You mention the idea of Big Data helping mankind and how universities and development teams can really improve the quality and acceptance of Big Data by adding educated people to the work force, where else do you see the evolution of Big Data going?

I think that it’s my opinion, I think that it’s all about developing systems that help make people qualified decisions, so called Decisions Support Systems or Recommender System, you name it, and it’s not about building the Skynet, Skynet that I mention previously. Computers are stupid, they are there just to do the job you tell them to do, but they are very good in doing this fast and repeated well, hopefully without mistakes, without errors which is not always true, but anyway they can repeat things, they can do these things very fast so we will use them. And the final click, the final ‘yes’ or ‘no’ will come from a qualified person who uses the computer to decide based on millions of different factors. It’s been pre-computed everything, pre-aggregated so you need to make a decision. And when you can make this decision you will teach your computer to do even more, to analyze more, to go further with that. I think the evolution is in the Recommender Systems and in the Decision Support Systems.

Harry: Thank you very much for your time!

Pavlo: Thanks for having me here!

General Feedback
Bugs
Advertising
Editorial
InfoQ.com and all content copyright © 2006-2014 C4Media Inc. InfoQ.com hosted at Contegix, the best ISP we've ever worked with.
Privacy policy
BT