BT

如何利用碎片时间提升技术认知与能力? 点击获取答案

大数据在Etsy产品开发中的角色定位
录制于:

| 受访者 Nell Thomas 关注 0 他的粉丝 作者 Harry Brumleve 关注 1 他的粉丝 发布于 2013年9月13日 | AICon 关注机器学习、计算机视觉、NLP、自动驾驶等20+AI热点技术和最新落地成功案例。
13:18

个人简介 Nellwyn Thomas是Etsy公司数据团队中的一位分析师,她的工作与产品、营销以及工程领域关系密切,旨在监控、创建、更新并完善Etsy公司的产品组合。在进入Etsy之前,她曾在纽约的两家小型初创企业负责过分析及产品类工作。她是哈佛大学的毕业生,并且拥有宾夕法尼亚大学的硕士学位。

软件正在改变世界;QCon大会旨在促进企业软件开发领域的知识与创新的传播;为实现这个目标,Qcon面向从业者,旨在帮助开发团队中影响创新的团队领导、架构师、项目经理以及工程主管等。

   

1. 我是Harry Brumleve,现在我们正在旧金山的QCon 2012大会现场。今天到场的嘉宾是Nell Thomas,您能向我们简单介绍下自己和工作的情况吗?

好的,我叫Nell Thomas,是来自Etsy公司的一名数据分析师。我们的工程师及分析师团队非常优秀,一直在努力帮助企业通过数据更好地完成工作。

   

2. 您为什么选择分析师这条道路呢?

事实上,一直以来,分析数据并从数据的角度审视行为就是我根深蒂固的思维方式。我在大学里学的是心理学专业,在那里我有机会在实验室中把自己的想法加以验证,而这也逐渐成为我做出决定的一种常用手段。从大学毕业之后,我进入一家初创公司工作,这是一家金融服务类企业,需要通过数据掌握公开交易股票的态势;这对我来说是个同时学习数据收集、数据分析与建模以及数据传播的绝佳机遇。由于交付的内容只能是文字而非数字,因此通过清晰准确的表达来阐述分析结果就成了我工作中的重要组成部分。在此之后,我又进入另一家开发网络产品的初创公司,在那里我学习了产品创建的相关知识。最后我来到Etsy,负责利用数据帮助开发团队了解什么样的产品能够同时满足厂商与用户的诉求,我对目前的状况非常满意。

   

3. 在Etsy公司里,您所使用的数据来自何处?

我们主要有两大数据源。首先是交易数据,也就是描述用户交易或登录会员账户的这一类数据,属于规律性关系数据库;非常简单。第二类是数据集,这些数据更加散乱、体积也更大,其中包含的用户站点活动——例如查看访客记录、点击主页、搜索框输入信息、偏好产品等——也相对更具趣味性;这部分数据我们会利用事件日志系统进行收集。
我们将数据保存在Hadoop当中进行处理,同时利用一些更为复杂的技术在必要时将数据提取出来。有时候我们也需要利用一套名为Vertica的数据仓储方案同时存储上述两类数据集,旨在帮助具备SQL技能的工作人员同时对二者加以分析。总体来说,我们一直在努力提高数据的可访问性,这样大家就能够在不具备编程技能的情况下提取数据了。虽然要想理解数据含义、分析技能仍然不可或缺,但尽可能压低数据使用门槛对我们而言非常重要。

   

4. 那一般来说,这些数据最终会用于哪些方面呢?

我得说我们每天需要面对的各类数据太多了,企业必然会产生大量运营指标,我们则以此为基准了解网站的运营状况。在产品开发方面,我们会把数据应用在流程的每一个环节中。尝试确定我们所要创建的产品、理解创建的具体过程、在创建完成后对其进行迭代、对一款产品做出反思甚至直接撤销,我们希望确保自己准确理解以上环节所产生的影响。我们会在网站中进行大量实验,当然也会利用数据及统计分析推导由变更衍生出的结果。另外,我们也在尝试将数据与决策制定流程相结合,并推广到产品型组织以及整个企业当中——其中包括营销、公共关系、高级管理及技术支持等多个部门。

   

5. 如果这些数据在Etsy公司中能够实现高度可用性,会给企业的日常运营带来怎样的影响?

我认为在一般情况下,正如前面提到的,我们每天都会对企业运营状况进行审视,弄清楚网站的运转状况;不过出于规划或优化的考虑,我们一般不会干涉日常工作内容、而是将目光放在长期变化带来的影响上。就我个人看来,实时分析的确能给短期变更或小规模影响带来优化效果;不过我们更希望能从长远角度展开思考。因此,从日常角度来看,我们进行的实验或执行的临时分析也许会帮助产品经理或市场经理改善规划,但与能够指导未来一个、两个、三个月甚至一年的宏观指导方案相比,这样的效果实在是微不足道。

   

6. 您真的在把数据合并到Etsy公司的组织结构当中吗?

我们投入大量精力来实现这一目标。我们组建了专门的数据团队,从两个方面对基础设施进行调整,旨在确保我们能在收集准确数据的同时将其交付给企业。我们还努力培养独立团队之间的关系,这样同时身处多个团队的分析师就能负起联络的职责,帮助其他成员理解数据、进行补充分析、将数据翻译为可执行项目。举例来说,我同时在销售工具团队、搜索团队以及营销团队工作,这样他们不仅能获取到来自团队内部的数据并加以使用,也能与其它团队互通资讯、加深理解、将数据转化为生产力。

   

7. 从传统角度看,产品开发工作需要有销售、宣传以及业务分析人士的共同参与。目前这一格局似乎遭到破坏,我们是否需要修复这种关系?数据在这方面的指导效果是不是要好于用户需求?

在Etsy公司中并不存在明确的市场营销或业务等划分,我们倾向于将其称为驱动产品决策的部门,其中包括工程师、产品经理、产品设计师等在产品开发团队中举足轻重的成员——我更喜欢这个名字。所以在用户需求方面,我认为数据的作用并不是取代用户需求,而是要利用数据来明确并传达用户需求。而且一般情况下,数据集文化意味着企业中的每位员工都会思考如何对待数据、使用数据、解读数据并最终使其明了易懂。而且,我们的工作就是激励他们这么做,我们取得了优异的工作效果、我们永远能做得更,而且我们有能力将客观数据作为决策的重要支点,无论是面向未来的规划还是针对过去的反思。

   

8. 利用数据启发决策的理念也能够帮助您判断新特性或者测试是否成功。您是否认为数据可能成为Etsy公司未来决策制定工作的辅助手段?

大家在制定决策时必须需要参考多方面因素,而数据只是其中的组成部分之一。它的作用很重要,而且在我们看来效果显著。就以实验为例,我们可以借此量化两种可能性方案之间的差异。有时候设计思路会出现两种截然不同的发展方向,其中一种可能使用较大的按钮、另一种则使用较小的按钮。这时我们需要在A|B测试中分别观察它们的实际表现。这种处理方式使我们能够明确差异所带来的不同效果,而不必全凭主观感受进行盲目选择。也就是说,当我们评估哪种测试更适用于全局或者如何阐述某种实验的结果时,必须先要将其整合到对产品的深入理解当中。因此辅助手段可能带来好处也可能引发弊端,我更偏向于把它视为一种更强大、更可靠的工具组合,但绝不能作为需要考虑的惟一因素。

   

9. Etsy公司的分析师需要改善客户及营销人员的实际体验,这种对分析及数据的关注要如何贯彻到用户体验当中?

Etsy是一个由买家和卖家共同组成的市场。Etsy中的卖家销售手工制品、葡萄酒或其它日常品,有些卖家还会在我们的网站中处理所有小型企业运营事务。我们希望能让这一思路更加透明化并更具启发性。我们打造了一款名为“Shop Stats”、面向卖家的分析工具。卖家能够随时查看、将推荐资料纳入店铺、整理最受欢迎货品清单或者弄清人们在访问店铺时最常搜索的关键字是什么。作为企业,Etsy公司利用数据制定决策,我希望我们的卖家们也能运用这一机制。

   

10. 并不是每家软件厂商都能在企业内部通过数据文化获得收益。在企业中我们该如何推动新工具数据文化的普及或起步?

我认为数据有时候确实会显得太过专业甚至可怕、不能为每个人访问并使用;我还认为推广数据文化的第一步在于通过数字培养安全的评估环境。就我个人而言,可能会从问题而并非数据本身开始入手……也就是我们希望回答的那些问题。例如产品或企业的关键性指标是什么,我们打算如何对其做出修改、如此评估这些修改、实现修改需要哪些辅助因素。如果大家不能指明这些问题并提前找出答案,那即使拥有全世界的数据也无济于事。大家可能会让努力落空、也可能被海量数字淹没而找不到正确方向,因此我会先在思维方式、组织方式上下一番功夫,弄清该如何使用这些数据。至于数据文化的另一个重要方面,我认为在于回顾以往决策、利用数据进行反思。我们已经聊了很多利用数据做出预先思考,如规划、迭代或优化,但是现在需要回过头审视过去我们做出的决定、总结由此带来的影响……也就是决策的实际效果。
我认为其中的核心在于诚信,进行评估之后利用数字直接向决策者做出反馈。虽然数字本身并不是惟一的答案,但我要再次重申,请诚实并明确地强调数字在制定决策中的重要地位。

   

11. 您看到过其它由分析引导的决策制定机制吗?

我认为大家都接触过以分析为主导的理念,而且大数据最近一段时间迸发出强大的吸引力,并成为很受欢迎的决策试金石。在我看来,这种情况将继续持续下去,我也很看好这一趋势。无论是Etsy公司还是其它企业,我都坚信我们将逐步见证数据影响力由过去的CSV、表格或Excel文件向更广阔的空间渗透,并且成为从业人员技能储备的重要组成部分。因此,我预计专业分析团队将仍然存在,只是其中会设置一些专门考查数据、使用数据并以此作为主要工作内容的新成员。这可能是未来最具可操作性的发展方向。

Nell,感谢您做出的精彩发言,希望您在QCon大会上过得愉快。

也感谢您的采访。

登陆InfoQ,与你最关心的话题互动。


找回密码....

Follow

关注你最喜爱的话题和作者

快速浏览网站内你所感兴趣话题的精选内容。

Like

内容自由定制

选择想要阅读的主题和喜爱的作者定制自己的新闻源。

Notifications

获取更新

设置通知机制以获取内容更新对您而言是否重要

BT

BT

Big Data's Role in Etsy's Product Development
Recorded at:

Interview with Nell Thomas by Harry Brumleve on Mar 04, 2013 | NOTICE: The next QCon is in London Mar 2-6, Join us!
13:18

Bio Nellwyn Thomas is an analyst on the Data team at Etsy, where she works closely with product, marketing, and engineering to scout, build, instrument and improve Etsy’s product portfolio. Before Etsy, she worked on analytics and product teams at two smaller NYC start-ups. She is a graduate of Harvard College, and holds a master’s degree from the University of Pennsylvania.

Software is changing the world; QCon aims to empower software development by facilitating the spread of knowledge and innovation in the enterprise software development community; to achieve this, QCon is organized as a practitioner-driven conference designed for people influencing innovation in their teams: team leads, architects, project managers, engineering directors.

   

1. My name is Harry Brumleve and we’re here at QCon 2012, San Francisco, sitting with Nell Thomas, could you tell us a little bit about yourself and what you do?

Yes, my name is Nell Thomas and I am a Data Analyst at Etsy, I’m part of a great group of engineers, analysts who help use data to make things better.

   

2. What drew you to the analyst path?

Sure. Thinking about data and thinking about behavior in terms of data was engrained in me pretty early on, I studied Psychology in college, and there I had the opportunity to work in labs and run experiments and run some of my own experiments and I think it just kind of became part of how I approached decision making. After college, I worked at a startup, it was a financial services firm, that used data to understand the performance of publicly traded stocks and that was an opportunity for me to learn both the skills of point data and data analysis, modeling but also communicating about data. The deliverables were words not numbers and so having to articulate the meaning of an analysis became an important part of my job. After that I went to a startup that was building a web product, I had the opportunity to learn about building a product and at Etsy I get to use data to help build products which is the best of both worlds, and it’s really an awesome place to be.

   

3. Where does your data come from at Etsy?

We have two main data sources. The first is what we would call Transactional data, which is someone who makes a purchase or signs up for a member account and all that data is kind of regular relational databases; pretty straightforward. The second set of data, which is messier and bigger and a little bit more exciting is the behavior of someone on the site, so a visit who comes and clicks on the homepage, types some words into the search box, favorites an item maybe, all of that data we collect using an event logging system.

We store in Hadoop and processes there and requires a little bit more technical sophistication to extract that data. We are moving to a place where we’re going to be using a data warehouse solution called Vertica to store some of both sets of data, which will allow people with SQL skills to extract an analyze both. In general we are trying to move to a place where data is more and more accessible so that you don’t need programming skills in order to extract it. You will always need analytical skills to understand it but lowering the barrier in terms of getting to the data is important to us.

   

4. And so what typically do you end up using this data for?

There’s all sorts of data I should also say obviously we have lots of operational metrics that we look at on a daily basis to understand how the site is doing. In terms of Product development, we are using it from every point of the process. Trying to identify a product we build, to understanding how we should build it, to iterate on it once it’s built, even to decisions around maybe deprecating a product or killing it, we want to make sure that we understand the impact of that. We run a lot of experiments on the site as well and there obviously we are using data and statistical analysis to understand the effects of changes we are making and we really try to inject that decision making with data, both in the product organization and throughout the company, so from marketing, PR, senior management, or support.

   

5. If this data is highly available at Etsy, how does it affect day to day operations?

I think in general, and I said earlier, we have operational matrix that we look at day to day to just understand how the website is doing, but in terms of planning or optimization, we think about less in terms of the unit of the day that we do with the long term impact of changes. Real time analytics for us, I think my concern of that is that it leads to optimizing around short term changes or small term effects and we want really to be thinking about things in a longer time horizon than that. So on a day to day level we are running experiments, we are doing ad hoc analysis, product managers or marketing managers might be looking at data to help plan, but it may not be as much about responding to yesterday as it is about planning for a month or two or three months from now, a year from now.

   

6. You are really incorporating data into the structure of Etsy?

We are trying very much to do so. We have a data team that works on both the infrastructure, that allows us to collect accurate data and deliver it to the company, we also work on the relationships with the individual teams, so the analysts, each take a few teams to help be the liaison on that, interprets the data, provides additional analysis, helps translate it into actionable items, for example, I personally work with our seller tools team, our search team, I work a lot with our marketing team and the idea there is that people on those teams are empowered to get their own data and use it, but they also have a resource for people to understand it and use it.

   

7. Traditionally the world of developing products has been something of a combination between sales, marketing and business analysts, is this broken, do we need to fix it and is data better than user requirements for this type of effort?

At Etsy it’s not sales marketing or business that I would say are driving product decision making and it’s really the engineers, Proc managers and Proc designers that make up our product development team, it’s very well named. So in terms of user requirements, I don’t think it’s about replacing user requirements with data, it’s really about using data to inform those user requirements. And that, what generally is, it’s kind of a set of data culture where everyone at the company is empowered to think about it, to think about data, use data and that we can demystify data and make it transparent. And in inspiring to do that, and this thing we’re working on, I think we do a pretty good job out, we can always do better, we’re trying to make sure that, decisions, both planning in the future and looking back at past decisions, we can do that with objective data.

   

8. The idea of being able to use data, to inform decisions, and it’s also kind of how you determine whether a new feature or a test is successful. Do you foresee data maybe becoming a crutch for making decisions in the future at Etsy?

So anytime you make a decision, you want to have multiple inputs and data it’s just one of those. It’s a really strong one, a really good one in my mind. An example of experiments, that’s a place where we can quantify the difference between two possibilities. Sometimes that’s two different treatments of a design, we might have one that has a bigger button and one that has a smaller button and seeing how those things perform in an A|B test, it does allow us to have a better sense than we would have if we would launch that blindly. That said, when we evaluate overall which test we should run or how to interpret the results in some experiment, it has to be used as part of a larger understanding of the product. So a clutch could be a good thing or a bad thing, I like to think of it as something that rounds out the tool kit makes it a little bit stronger, a little bit more robust but it should not be the only thing that’s being considered.

   

9. Analytics at Etsy are used to improve the experience for its customers and its sellers, how does this focus on analytics and data all through the day to day experience for a user?

Etsy is a marketplace made up of buyers and sellers and the sellers on Etsy who sell handmade goods, vintage goods or supplies, some of them are running their entire small businesses through the site and there we also want to inspire this idea of transparency and demystification, we have a seller facing analytics tool called “Shop Stats” where a seller can see, referral sources into their shop or what are their most popular listings are to be viewed or what keywords people were searching for when they found the shop and just as a company, Etsy tries to use data to make decisions , we want that for our sellers as well.

   

10. Not all software shops have the benefit of having a data culture within their organization, how can this be applicated or even started with an organization’s new tool data culture?

I think thing is that data can sometimes seem scary or specialized, not accessible to everyone and I think the first part of a data culture is just fostering kind of a safe environment for evaluating things with numbers. I think I would start not with data itself but with questions around… questions you want to answer, so what are your key metrics for the product or the business , how do you want to change them , how could you evaluate the changes, what do you need to get to that evaluation, you can have all the data in the world but if you don’t have those questions articulated and answers to them in your mind, you’re going to probably be shooting the dark or overwhelmed by numbers without any sense of direction, so I think a lot of it starts with a way of thinking, a way of structuring how you are going to approach the data and the other part of a data culture I think it’s an incredible important is the ability to look back on past decisions and evaluate them using data, so we’ve been talking a lot about using data forward thinking and in planning or iterating, optimizing but it’s also about looking back at things you’ve decided on in the past and seeing how those changes you’ve made… those decisions you’ve made performed.

I think that’s really about a kind of honesty, assessing how something did and use those numbers, speaking directly about them and not that numbers should be the only answer but that, again, you can speak honestly and transparently about the role of data in your decision making.

   

11. Where do you see product development driven by analytics heading?

So I think that you’ve really seen the idea of analytics and big data getting a lot of attraction recently and become a really popular touchstone. I think that will continue to be the case and I think that’s a good thing. At Etsy and elsewhere, I do believe we’ll start to see data become more distributed across the companies and not just in terms of the actual CSVs and tables and Excel files but in terms of the skill set. So I think there will always be a place for a specialized analyst team but having individual team members empowered to think about data and use data and the skills to do so, I think will be a possible direction of the future.

Harry: Nell thank you for your time and I hope you enjoy QCon.

Thank you for interviewing me.

General Feedback
Bugs
Advertising
Editorial
InfoQ.com and all content copyright © 2006-2014 C4Media Inc. InfoQ.com hosted at Contegix, the best ISP we've ever worked with.
Privacy policy
BT