Older rss
  • Q&A: Relevant Search with Elasticsearch and Solr

    by David Iffland on  Sep 26, 2016 1

    In their book "Relevant Search", Doug Turnbull and John Berryman focus on the challenge of providing search results by balancing the needs and intents of the user. Using Elasticsearch and Solr, relevance engineers can constantly tune the needs of the business vs. the needs of the user.

  • Book Review: Site Reliability Engineering - How Google Runs Production Systems

    by João Miranda on  Sep 21, 2016

    "Site Reliability Engineering - How Google Runs Production Systems" is an open window into Google's experience and expertise on running some of the largest IT systems in the world. The book describes the principles that underpin the Site Reliability Engineering discipline. It also details the key practices that allow Google to grow at breakneck speed without sacrificing performance or reliability.

  • Spark GraphX in Action Book Review and Interview

    by Srini Penchikala on  Sep 12, 2016

    “Spark GraphX in Action” book from Manning Publications, authored by Michael Malak and Robin East, provides a tutorial based coverage of Spark GraphX, the graph data processing library from Apache Spark framework. InfoQ spoke with authors about the book and Spark GraphX library as well as overall Spark framework and what's coming up in the area of graph data processing and analytics.

Q&A and Book Review on Liftoff, Second Edition

Posted by Ben Linders on  Sep 10, 2016

The book Liftoff, Second Edition provides practices and insights for chartering teams by understanding needs, building trust, and defining how to interact in the team and align with the organization.

Q&A with Diomidis Spinellis on Effective Debugging

Posted by Ben Linders on  Aug 24, 2016

The book Effective Debugging by Diomidis Spinellis describes 66 different approaches for effective debugging of applications and systems.

Author Q&A: Decoding Silicon Valley

Posted by Shane Hastie on  Aug 06, 2016

Jon Baer & Michelle Messina have written a book exploring the secrets to success in Silicon Valley - what it takes for a startup to succeed. They look at culture, history, stories and successes.

Q&A with Jason Fox on How to Lead a Quest

Posted by Ben Linders on  Jul 29, 2016

In the book How to Lead a Quest Jason Fox explores what can be done to develop insights for strategic decisions and innovation, and for driving progress and delivering value.

Book Review and Excerpt: Infrastructure as Code

Posted by Abel Avram on  Jul 25, 2016

We review the book Infrastructure as Code by Kief Morris, who lays down the foundation for Infrastructure as Code and outlines the main patterns and practices recommended for building it.

Q&A with Jurgen Appelo on Managing for Happiness

Posted by Ben Linders on  Jul 20, 2016

The book Managing for Happiness provides practices, games and tools to manage organizations and make work fun, with suggestions for applying the practices to achieve organizational greatness.

Grokking Algorithms Review and Author Q&A

Posted by Sergio De Simone on  Jul 14, 2016

Manning’s Grokking Algorithms takes a novel approach to introducing such complex matters as data structures, algorithms, and complexity by leveraging the power and expressiveness of illustration.

Johanna Rothman on Agile and Lean Program Management

Posted by Savita Pahuja on  Jun 25, 2016

Johanna Rothman explores how to scale lean and agile processes to work in large programs in her book Agile and Lean Program Management: Scaling Collaboration Across the Organization.

Big Data Analytics with Spark Book Review and Interview

Posted by Srini Penchikala on  Jun 23, 2016

Big Data Analytics with Spark, authored by Mohammed Guller, provides a practical guide for learning Apache Spark. InfoQ and the author discuss the book & development tools for big data applications.

General Feedback
Marketing and all content copyright © 2006-2016 C4Media Inc. hosted at Contegix, the best ISP we've ever worked with.
Privacy policy

We notice you're using an ad blocker

We understand why you use ad blockers. However to keep InfoQ free we need your support. InfoQ will not provide your data to third parties without individual opt-in consent. We only work with advertisers relevant to our readers. Please consider whitelisting us.